Wheaton Iowa volunteers recognized at Governor's Volunteer Awards

posted 9/13/2017 in News

The Governor's Volunteer Awards regional recognition ceremony was held at the Gallagher Bluedorn Performing Arts Center in Cedar Falls on Friday, September 1. More than 600 awards are being presented by Governor Kim Reynolds and Lt. Governor Adam Gregg this year during ceremonies held at several locations around the state.  It is estimated that more than 31,000 hours of service, with an economic impact of more than $727,000, were served by this year’s honorees during the past twelve months.

Please congratulate these volunteers and staff members!

Individual Awards
Dick Douglas
Mary Margaret Halverson
Delores Jacoby
Patti Kuebler
Marv Mattfield
Bev Michael
Liane Nichols

Group Awards
Gallagher Bluedorn Floor Captains (Louis Wishmeyer, Carol Bartels, Kurt & Shelby Weithorn)
University of Northern Iowa Student Admissions (Lauren Janning)

The Governor's Volunteer Award program provides an easy, non-competitive way to honor the dedicated people who volunteer their time and talent to help an agency or organization deliver on its mission.  Nominations are accepted in March and April each year.  Awards are presented during regional recognition events held each summer. 

State agencies, nonprofits, charitable organizations, and non-state government entities may recommend an individual volunteer or group of volunteers who directly assisted the organization with a project, event, or activity for a Governor’s Volunteer Award.

Photos of this year's recipients are available to view here.